Confessions of a Wannabe Journalist, Part 3- The Brotherhood

The seven of us in August at the recruitment meeting. What a great year it was, gentlemen.
The seven of us in August at the recruitment meeting. What a great year it was, gentlemen.
As I sit here and try to write the introduction to this blog, I find myself having a hard time of properly getting this thing started. There are a couple ideas I’ve had, but they were both deleted within one sentence of being written. I guess even guys like me struggle sometimes with words.

This post isn’t some hot take on some big sporting event. I’m not here to cry about the Chicago Bulls’ playoff exit or give my thoughts on American Pharaoh’s chances of winning the Triple Crown. No, its not anything to do with sports. This is about a group of men that I now consider to be my brothers.

When Chris Turner, Tyler Murry, Sam Weiger, Nick Yahl, Nick Jordan, Mitchel Summers, and I were selected to be MUTV execs in April of 2014, we had no idea what the following year would bring us. Sure, we were excited for the opportunity to host our own shows and cover Mizzou football games, but none of us expected the roller coaster of a ride this year would be.

I can’t sit here and say that it was always great. Not everything can be perfect, and we definitely hit our rough patches along the way. But in the end, we all stayed loyal to each other, helping build up that trust and sense of brotherhood.

Being in journalism, it’s rare that you can have a bond with someone like how I do with these six guys. Sure, many professional relationships are formed throughout the business, but to have a personal relationship with six fellow journalists is pretty rare. That’s what I gained from my time at MUTV, and it’s something I’ll cherish for the rest of my life.

Now before I thank these guys individually, I just want to say thanks to everyone who helped me out at MUTV these past two years. You’ve all been a vital part to my success, and I can’t thank you enough for always believing in me.

With that out of the way, it’s time to thank my fellow sports execs individually.

Chris Turner- Not many possess the natural on-air talent like you Chris. Your personality is so unique, too, and that’s one of the reasons why you’re going to go far in this business. Not many people have had to go through the things you have my friend, but you came out of it stronger on the other side, and it has made you a better person today. Thank you again for always being a great friend.

Tyler Murry- You probably have the brightest future of all of us, Tyler. I can already see you working on NHL Network or hosting your own show in Boston. There’s no doubt in my mind that you’re going to do big things in this business. And, on top of that, you’re a great person to have around. We had a blast covering the South Carolina football game this year, and I think our bond has been strong ever since that weekend. You’re one of the nicest people I’ve met down here man. Thank you again for always being a great friend.

Sam Weiger- Well, Sam, you’re definitely one of the most interesting guys I’ve ever met, but that’s what makes you so awesome. Your personality is eccentric, and your loud, boisterous voice always made Tailgaters fun and entertaining. It’s pretty upsetting that you’re leaving journalism, but I know that no matter what you do, you’ll find success. Thank you again for always being a great friend.

Nick Yahl- You’ll probably have to zoom in the text on the computer so that way your old eyes can read what I’m saying (hahaha….just kidding man). But aside from the old person jokes, you truly were a great person to have around. None of us really knew who you were until we were selected to be execs, but I think we’re all glad you got to be one of the seven with us. You have great leadership qualities, and I have no doubt you’ll excel as assistant GM for MUTV this year. Couple that with your great work ethic, and I know you’ll have a great future in journalism. Thank you again for always being a great friend.

Nick Jordan- I’m not going to lie, you and I have had some ups and downs this past year, but I can still firmly say that you’re one of my better friends down here. You’ve been there for me to vent my frustrations and vice versa, and I think we’ve become better friends because of it. Sure, we may not see eye to eye on a lot of sports topics, but I always enjoy arguing those sports with you. Your writing skills are incredible, and I know you’ll be writing for some major newspaper or website in no time. Thank you again for always being a great friend.

Mitchel Summers- I’m pretty sure I could write a whole other post about you and how much your friendship has meant to me this past year. We’ve been there for each other at our highest of highs and lowest of lows. Even when it was ugly between us, I knew that it was going to be all right because the bond you and I have is unbreakable. You helped me through one of the toughest times in my life, and I will be eternally grateful to you for that. Getting to cover two football games with you, including the Citrus Bowl in Orlando, was extraordinary. And, of course, we did a little show called Triple Play, which was the best show at MUTV all year. I couldn’t have asked for a better co-host to work with, and there aren’t many things I’m going to miss more than hosting Triple Play on Thursdays at 5pm with you. It was a blast man. Thank you again for always being a great friend.

Thank you again guys for giving me such an awesome experience. I look forward to our times together these next few years before we all depart our separate ways after college. You were the best group of guys to work with, and I wouldn’t change one thing about our time together this past year. Thanks again for everything, gentlemen. It was all worth it.

Leave a Reply

