Confessions of a Wannabe Journalist- Part 1

Thank god I love the journalism business, because if I didn’t, I would have lost my mind by now. I mean, I’ve lost my sanity by this point, but my mind is still mostly there, which is a good sign.

I knew what I was getting in to when I came to Mizzou. We like to consider ourselves the greatest journalism school in the world, and with that comes a huge challenge to make that claim legitimate. Classes have to be hard. Grading needs to be even harder. Everything you do has to be critiqued and analyzed so that way when you get your degree in four years, you’ll be miles ahead of every other journalist who didn’t go to Mizzou.

Before I continue, just let me mention that I absolutely love being at Missouri. I’ve met some great people that I consider to be my best friends and have had some really awesome experiences in my first year and a half here at Mizzou. There’s no other place I’d rather be right now.

However, I’m pretty sure this semester has caused me to lose 10 years of my life. Late nights, early mornings, and lots of coffee have mostly been the key to my success (or whatever you call it) this semester of school. Even as I’m writing this blog, I’m physically and mentally drained. The stresses all of my classes, not even just the journalism ones, has taken a toll on me.

But the point of this blog is the journalism classes, and that’s where I’ll start. I’m sure of the 10 years that have been taken off my life this semester, eight of them have come from my journalism 2000 class, or just J2000 for short. Overall, I feel that it’s a very interesting class. We get to talk a lot about culture, race, context, and things along those lines and how it pertains to journalism, which really makes you think about how we go about our business as journalists. The final project, though, is what is making everybody lose their minds. Trying to find a source for a story can already be a challenge, but trying to convince them to do a half-hour long interview is almost impossible.

Also, the enormity of the project is insane. I know that eight people are working on it, but it still takes a lot of work to make a website and write all these different things for it. And, believe it or not, it’s very hard to navigate eight different people’s schedules so that way we can meet up and actually talk about the website.

Journalism 2100, or J2100, has had a different feel to me, though. A lot of people don’t like it because it’s a lot of outside work, but I think that’s actually pretty cool. Like, I feel like I’m actually learning stuff in that class, which is sometimes the sense I don’t get in 2000. In 2100, I’m really expanding my horizon as a journalist, and my writing skills have improved from it.

Then, there’s being an MUTV exec and getting to run not one, but two shows. First off, let me just say I absolutely love working for MUTV. Getting to co-host my own sports show, Triple Play, with Mitchel has been nothing short of miraculous. He and I have been able to produce quality shows week in and week out, and I feel like we’re firing on all cylinders right now. Good Morning Mizzou has been great as well, as Shaan, Priyanka, and myself have been able to make the show very fun and exciting.

The fact is, though, is that MUTV takes up a lot of my time. Working on scripts, making B roll, creating graphics, finding people to come on your show, and then actually filming the show takes up an incredible amount of time. A lot of hours have been dedicated to MUTV, but it’s been worth it.

In closing, yes I am going through a lot of stress right now with all my classes, MUTV, etc., but would I trade this experience for the world? Absolutely not. I love what I’m doing, even if it is trying to be the death of me.

If I didn’t love the journalism business, I would have lost my mind by now. My sanity is gone, but I at least still have my brain. And that’s good enough for me.

Thanks for reading. Until next time, my dedicated readers.

Leave a Reply

